WatchmenComicMovie.com Forum


Talk about the Watchmen comic book mini-series and film
It is currently Thu Jun 29, 2017 10:58 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3430 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 168, 169, 170, 171, 172
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2015 4:45 pm 
Offline
I don't think there is a god. And if there is I'm nothing like him.
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 1:26 pm
Posts: 5380
Location: Knee Deep in the Dead
I've wanted to read Rendezvous with Rama for a while now.
But as for hard Sci-Fi, I'm reading God Emperor of Dune now.
Jesus fucking Christ.

This book is fucking weird.

_________________
My Blog of Movie Reviews and Such
Image
I'll be right back. I gotta go see a man about a mule.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2015 4:41 pm 
Offline
Genetically-Altered Lynx
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 12:43 am
Posts: 2860
The October Country by Ray Bradbury - A lot of scary and cool short stories. As with many anthologies, some are better than others but Bradbury was a master.

Insufficient Direction by Moyoco Anno - This was written by Hideaki Anno's wife as a way to parody not only herself, but also Anno and their marriage. It's a very funny, very weird (in the best of ways) and very entertaining. Anno's style may be a tad simplistic, but it works just fine given the overall "slice of life" tone of the story.

The Making of the Hitchhiker by Mary Ann Anderson - Uh, it was informative but not as in-depth as I would've liked. Honestly, I feel stupid for buying this book. It cost me 7 dollars but its original price is 14 bucks and it just feels really unjustified. The book is about 50 pages long in terms of contest, written with a big font and with pictures. It really feels more like a booklet you'd be given at a museum exhibition or something similar. Yeah, I didn't pay a lot for it but I still feel like I wasted my money.

_________________
My unofficial and offical work-> http://www.youtube.com/movieboyandco


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:14 am 
Offline
Labored long to build a heaven.
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 2:48 pm
Posts: 12480
Location: Monster Island (Really New York)
Jeez, I need to finish the prose novels I have on queue and start reading more. I've been so wrapped up in reading comic stories non-stop, I just don't have time.

I mean, it's hard to blame me, though. These things have a motocycle flame skeleton in them.

_________________
"The world is a fine place and worth fighting for." I agree with the second part.
Image
"There's a cello in your house now."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:57 am 
Offline
Genetically-Altered Lynx
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 12:43 am
Posts: 2860
I should read more comics, personally. The issue is that collected volumes tend to be expensive, even used, and since I'm such a fast reader, I finish them quickly. Meanwhile, prose books I tend to take a little time, but again, I'm a fast reader but I'm slower with them than I am with comics. Maybe someday I'll go crazy and just buy a whole ton of comics to last me for a year.

_________________
My unofficial and offical work-> http://www.youtube.com/movieboyandco


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2015 9:32 pm 
Offline
Labored long to build a heaven.
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 2:48 pm
Posts: 12480
Location: Monster Island (Really New York)
Rage of Ultron-Despite being laughably titled, this is a very well written and beautifully illustrated character study of Hank Pym and Ultron.

The 6 Voyages of Lone Sloane-An amazing science fiction/fantasy chronicle about a space traveler who encounters all manner of cosmic craziness including dragons, pirate, killer robots, and gods. The art is absolutely amazing. Indescribable, really. You'll marvel at each and every page like it should be hanging in a museum.

The Tooth-A graphic novel designed to imitate and replicate the experience of reading old horror comics. It really reads like the creators playing around and just bringing out their inner child while playing around with the conventions of old comics magazines. It makes for a very fun read.

Edit: Wow, Action Comics: The Black Ring is a really interesting character study of Lex Luthor.

_________________
"The world is a fine place and worth fighting for." I agree with the second part.
Image
"There's a cello in your house now."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 4:13 pm 
Offline
Labored long to build a heaven.
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 2:48 pm
Posts: 12480
Location: Monster Island (Really New York)
Ms. Marvel by G. Willow Wilson: Going into this, I thought it might suffer Catcher in the Rye syndrome (it only appealing to a specific demographic), but that is far from the case. While you would think a teenage Muslim girl legacy hero would be a very specific concept that a very specific type of person would be able to relate to, she's actually extremely relateable. Anyone who's ever had conflicting ideas or doubts about their own identity or place in the world will be able to see themselves in Kamala Khan. Not to mention these comics are just plain fun.

Wytches by Scott Snyder and Jock: A horror series that comprises the eldritch and the deeply personal. What if you could sacrifice someone to gain the happiness and contentment you've always desired? When you get to the heart of it, this is a series about sacrifice. It's also a great examination of the relationship between parents and their child. Horror is a way to express and confront humanity's inner fears and this accomplishes both excellently.

American Barbarian by Tom Scioli: If you're looking for a completely unfiltered good time, this is the book for you. Pure imagination and creativity permeate this book. Tom Scioli employs a retro comic art style to display the adventures of Meric, the titular hero, in a post-post apocalyptic landscape in the vein of He-man, Conan the Barbarian, and just crazy fun. Lacking all pretension, this comic takes you on a wild and stylistic adventure that makes you laugh at just how enjoyable comics can be in the form of their purest id.

Gødland by Joe Casey and Tom Scioli: A creative team match made in Heaven. Quite literally as it turns out. Gødland is a deep examination of who we are as a people and as individuals. It's an extremely personal story while simultaneously being the largest story one could possibly imagine telling. Small scale and large side by side, this book is meaningful, but also irreverent and fun. With humble beginnings, this book builds to a grand thesis and transcends its roots as homage to the cosmic superhero epics in the vein of Kirby and Starlin of the past, fully coming into its own as a masterwork in and of itself.

_________________
"The world is a fine place and worth fighting for." I agree with the second part.
Image
"There's a cello in your house now."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 1:49 pm 
Offline
I don't think there is a god. And if there is I'm nothing like him.
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 1:26 pm
Posts: 5380
Location: Knee Deep in the Dead
Crossed

Holy fuck.

_________________
My Blog of Movie Reviews and Such
Image
I'll be right back. I gotta go see a man about a mule.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 1:51 am 
Offline
Labored long to build a heaven.
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 2:48 pm
Posts: 12480
Location: Monster Island (Really New York)
NiteOwl wrote:
Crossed

Holy fuck.

Apparently, Alan Moore took over writing duties on Crossed Plus 100 recently.

_________________
"The world is a fine place and worth fighting for." I agree with the second part.
Image
"There's a cello in your house now."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:47 pm 
Offline
I don't think there is a god. And if there is I'm nothing like him.
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 1:26 pm
Posts: 5380
Location: Knee Deep in the Dead
Godziller66 wrote:
NiteOwl wrote:
Crossed

Holy fuck.

Apparently, Alan Moore took over writing duties on Crossed Plus 100 recently.

I need to get my hands on that like... soon. I've read all the rest.

_________________
My Blog of Movie Reviews and Such
Image
I'll be right back. I gotta go see a man about a mule.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 5:56 pm 
Offline
I don't think there is a god. And if there is I'm nothing like him.
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 1:26 pm
Posts: 5380
Location: Knee Deep in the Dead
Performing a bit of necromancy here, because why the fuck not-
I'm currently reading Descender, by Jeff Lemire.
It's really good. Dustin Nguyen's art ranges from stunning to frustrating though.
I prefer a more conventional and cleaner art style. If Cliff Chiang was doing the art, I'd be in heaven.
But then again, he's like, my favorite artist working right now so...

Also getting back into Preacher, Crossed (because apparently there's a fuck ton I haven't read and didn't know about), and Transmetropolitan is on my nightstand.
I finished Paper Girls Vol. 2 the other day and that was fantastic. That comic just keeps getting better and better.

_________________
My Blog of Movie Reviews and Such
Image
I'll be right back. I gotta go see a man about a mule.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3430 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 168, 169, 170, 171, 172

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
[ Time : 0.120s | 13 Queries | GZIP : Off ]